Board Committees

To help the Trustee Board in carrying out its duties, the Students' Union has established several other committees to look at certain areas in more detail.

At the present time, there are four Trustee Board Committees. The Students' Union also operates a wholly-owned subsidiary company, Manchester Academy Venues Ltd, and this reports to the Trustee Board regularly.

The Audit and Risk Committee is responsible for overseeing our financial and risk management processes, our internal controls and our relationships with our Auditors.

The Ethics Panel is responsible for examining in detail any aspect of our organisation which has cause for ethical concern. This Committee, unlike the others, does not meet on a regular basis and only meets when asked by the Board to look into a matter.

The Governance and Appointments Committee is reponsible for filling all vacancies in our governance structure, including our Student Trustees. It is also responsible for annually reviewing the effectiveness of our governance structure and recommending improvements.

The People and Culture Committee is responsible for all matters relating to staffing and HR, including the approval of employee policies and pay or benefit changes.

The Board of Directors of Manchester Academy Venues is responsible for the overall running of the Manchester Academy business.

Committee memberships and meeting dates

For 2016/17, the members of Board Committees are:

  Committee Meeting dates
Audit and Risk

Tamara O'Neill (Chair)

Isabel Gurbuz

Naa Acquah

Leigh Johnson

External Trustee 

Vicii Kirkpatrick 

Lindsay Horabin


1 September 2016

16 November 2016

7 March 2017

2 May 2017


Ethics Panel

Emma Atkins

Isabel Gurbuz

Ilyas Nagdee

Leigh Johnson

There are no scheduled meetings for this Committee, however the Committee will meet as required by the Trustee Board.
Governance and Appointments

Naa Acquah ( Chair)

Ilyas Nagdee

Daniel Lashley-Johnson

External Trustee

Will Spinks

16 September 2016

22 September 2016

May 2017 TBC



People and Culture

Daniel Lashley-Johnson (Chair)

Saffa Mir

Elizabeth Cameron

Sara Khan


6 September 2016

15 November 2016

8 March 2017

3 May 2017


Manchester Academy Venues Board of Directors

Tamara O'Neil

Jennifer Smyth

Sorcha Floyd

Naa Acquah

Sara Khan

Daniel Lashley-Johnson

The Union Director: Ben Ward

MAV Company Secretary: Rebecca Eley

15 December 2016

March 2017 TBC