.

Special Offers

Senate

Senate is the highest decision-making body in the Students Union. It takes place 6 times and makes decisions about what the Students' Union should believe and take action on.

It is made up of up to 72 elected students to discuss, debate and vote on policies and holds the Executive Officers of the organisation to account.

An additional 20 students are randomly selected to take part also. Students who are not elected to be on Senate can also participate and debate on the policies that are up for discussion.

Dates and Deadlines for Senate

Policy proposals, committee reports, officer progress reports and questions submission deadline Senate Amendments Deadline Senate
Sunday 17th November 11:59 PM Sunday 24th November 11:59 PM Thursday 5th December 5:00 PM
2020
Sunday 26th January 11:59 PM Sunday 2nd February  11:59 PM Thursday 6th February 5:00 PM
Sunday 8th March 11:59 PM Sunday 15 March  11:59 PM Thursday 26th March 5:00 PM
Sunday 19th April 11:59 PM Sunday 26th March  11:59 PM Thursday 7th May 5:00 PM

Agendas and Minutes

Coming Up

Thursday 5th November 

Previous

Tuesday 24th September

Thursday 7th November 

Click here to request minutes or agendas of previous Senates 

Who can attend the Senate?

As a Students' Union, it's important that only our registered students are able to participate in our democratic structures. As such, the constitution restricts attendance to the following people:

  • Any registered student who is a member of the Students' Union may attend or speak at Senate meetings

Submit a policy 

Any registered student at Manchester can submit an idea about what they think the Union should work on or that the Union should believe. This idea will then have the opportunity to go to the Senate where students will vote to decide whether or not it is something that they think the Students' Union should support.

Any registered student can submit an idea online here »

Amend a policy

If you think you can make the policy proposals better by removing, adding or replacing a piece of text to policy- Submit Your Amendment here

Question the Exec

The Executive Officers are elected by students which means they answer to you. Holding Officers to account and finding out what the Students' Union is doing for you is an important part of being a transparent, student-led organisation.

Use the button below to submit a question to any of the Officers which will be read out at Senate by the Chair. You can also ask questions to the Officers in person by coming along to the Senate

Submit a question to any of the Exec Officers

View our policies 

Click here to view all the active policies passed at the Senate 

Mobile CSS

rrrrrr